The Beginning – What it is to be healthy?


People often think that being healthy is just eating healthy food like fruits, boiled veggies, baked products without fats and then exercising a lot by going to the gym, doing cardio, doing Yogasans etc. We think it is about keeping watch on sugar and calorie contents, not overeating, having no layers of fats on the body.

But being healthy is more than that. Being healthy is about feeling healthy. It is not about what we eat or what we do. It is more about how we feel?

We need to ask ourselves, do I feel fresh during the day? Do I have a good stamina till the end of the day? Do I sweat too much and that makes me stink or uneasy? Do I find my hair strands everywhere? Do I always have gases and other digestion issues? Can I sleep well at night?

Any physical or mental thing that causes uneasiness or discomfort can be because of our health issues. The issue may not be serious always. So using the proof of contradiction, if we feel physically and mentally fit always, and if we are happy with our state, only then we are healthy.

The crucial thing here is to be aware of oneself. Don’t wait for others to point out what’s wrong. If I had white teeth for so long and all of sudden they start turning yellow, or I feel that my mouth has a bad odour now-a-day or when I eat something cold or too hot, I can feel pain in my teeth but this has never happened in the past, then I should be aware enough to notice this change. That something is going wrong, my health is compromised.

Be aware of oneself. We have become so busy living our lives, catching the vehicle, reaching work on time, making the right career choice and climbing the ladder that we tend to ignore the small changes or small signals we get from our body. Till one day, when things go out of our hands.

So the first thing today is, ask yourself, are you happy with your current mental and physical health?

4 thoughts on “The Beginning – What it is to be healthy?

Leave a comment