Bhaatti, Chotu and Lucy Madam


I have to call Lucy madam, immediately. I have let her go from my life. I had decided not to even think of her.
I was heartbroken when I learnt she was already married. How could I have not known? But I will have to keep that aside and make the call today. For our Chotu, for our dear Kalam!

Myself Bhaatti. I have a small dhaba in Rajasthan. Some months ago, Chotu’s mother had come to my dhaba with Chotu. She thinks of me as her brother. She had come to ask for help from her brother. She left Chotu with me, to work in my dhaba. This would have not only reduced the burden on her to feed him but Chotu would have also earned some money. I wanted to do my bit, so I allowed Chotu to stay. And how glad I am of it!

“Whatever I see, whatever I read, I remember everything.” He said confidently. Later, he proved it. He had quickly learnt everything. He immediately got accustomed to the routine. He would do dishes, serve the customers in the dhaba. He would also deliver orders to the guests in the Royal Palace.

The palace of Raja is just next to the dhaba. Raja and his family stays in half of the palace, while half of the palace is rented to guests coming from all over the world. Those guests usually come to our dhaba for their meals. One day Chotu rode on our camel, Laxmi, with a kettle full of the special Bhaatti Chai in the surrounding area of the palace. Since then, the guests are impressed and they like to have the delivery at their doorsteps!

Chotu is indeed smart, unlike the other lad Haddi. Chotu has even learnt different languages spoken by guests from different countries. Lucy madam was greatly impressed when he said “Je m’appele Kalam!” You see, he named himself Kalam, after India’s president A.P.J Abdul Kalam. He knows who is the right person to idolize unlike Haddi, who keeps dreaming of becoming an actor in Bollywood. “I want to wear a proper, ironed suit, with a tie, like a gentleman.” This was our little Kalam’s dream.

I will not lie, I accept. I too was impressed by Chotu. He definitely outshines in front of Haddi. Unknowingly, I had relaxed some rules for him. But he was also honest in his work. Haddi would complain that he disappears sometimes from the dhaba, but he is not a slacker. The other day, Lucy madam had herself asked to grant leave to Chotu. He was going to show her around, and also visit his house with her. These foreigners I tell you, have weird fantasies about India! And how was I going to say no to her?

But now, the picture is clear. Chotu has a royal friend. His desire to learn, study made him conquer all the obstacles. He couldn’t go to school. But his friend, Prince Ranvijay would teach him everything that he learns at school. He also taught him English. And in return, Chotu taught him Hindi. Chotu also became his real friend, something the lonely prince was in desperate need of. Chotu also helped the prince by introducing him to Lucy madam, who then helped him with the French test at school! I learnt this only after the prince revealed it today.

How foolish of me!

The prince had gifted some clothes and books to Chotu. When we saw Chotu leaving the palace secretly, we accused him of thieving. The belongings discovered from his room proved the charges. But he didn’t mention the prince even once. “I am not a thief, please believe me.” He knew if he would say anything further, the prince would be in trouble. “I am not a liar, please believe me.” He repeated. When nobody believed him, he escaped to Delhi with one of the truck drivers who halts at our dhaba.

Lucy madam is also in Delhi. I know she will help us. Yes, she will definitely help us to find Chotu. I have to call her, immediately.

***

I recently saw the movie ‘I am Kalam.’ I have written the story of the movie from one of the character’s perspective.

Here is the link to the movie, if you haven’t seen it –

4 thoughts on “Bhaatti, Chotu and Lucy Madam

Leave a comment