Elizabeth Ekadashi #AllTimeFavorite


How I learned about the movie –

This movie was released just a few years ago. The producers promoted this movie very well. It has very catchy music and trailer is equally well done. It made me excited and want me to watch the movie!

What is the movie about?

The movie is about a family that lives in Pandharpur, a pilgrim city in Maharashtra. There are a mother, 2 kids and a grandmother in the family. The mother is having some difficulties in managing the finances. She might have to sell the kids’ bicycle which was created from scratch by their father. The kids want to help their mother so that their bicycle, which is very close to their heart, will be safe.

The movie is about the kids’ struggle to save their beloved bicycle. Are they successful? Or being kids,  they stick to their nature and run into some trouble?

Elizabeth is the name of their bicycle. And Ashadhi is a day when all the devotees of Lord Vitthal, whose temple resides in Pandharpur, gather in the city. The events in the movie take place just a few days before Ashadhi.

Cast –

  • Shrirang Mahajan as Dnyanesh
  • Sayali Bhandarkavathekar as Mukta
  • Pushkar Lonarkar 
  • Nandita Dhuri
  • Vanmala Kinikar
  • Chaitanya Badve
  • Durgesh Badve-Mahajan
  • Chaitanya Kulkarni
  • Ashwini Bhalekar
  • Dhananjay (Prasad) Godbole
  • Anil Kamble
  • Aniruddha Prasad Kulkarni

Crew –

Director & Screenplay writer – Paresh Mokashi
Story –Madhugandha Kulkarni
Cinematography – Amol Gole
Music – Anand Modak

What I like about the movie?

I like a lot of things about the movie.

  1. I have never visited Pandharpur. But the movie is shot so beautifully, and the camera captures the sacredness of that place so well, I feel that I am in that city and moving in the lanes with the kids and there is some superpower around.
  2. The story of the movie is beautiful. All the characters are plausible. A hardworking mother, an intelligent son, a loving sister, a caring grandmother, a business-minded friend, etc. There are some incidences in the movie that have happened with me when I was little and I can totally relate.
  3. The cast does perfect justice to their characters. Every child artist has done an awesome job. Their crying, their laughing, even swearing is as honest as it can be.
  4. The music is wonderful. As I said, I get the feel of the city. I think music plays a very important role in creating that atmosphere.
  5. I like the positive vibes in Paresh Mokashi’s movies. I think it is his signature style 🙂

Leave a comment